maandag 29 november 2010

Andwella - 1970/1971 - World's End / People's People

World's End

01. Hold On To Your Mind        
02. Lady Love        
03. Michael Fitzhenry        
04. I'm Just Happy to See You Get Her        
05. Just How Long        
06. World's End (Part One)        
07. World's End (Part Two)        
08. Back on the Road        
09. I Got a Woman        
10. Reason for Leaving        
11. Shadow of the Night

People's People

01. She Taught Me To Love
02. Saint Bartholomew
03. The World Of Angelique
04. Mississippi Water
05. I've Got My Own
06. Are You Ready
07. Four Days In September
08. Lazy Days
09. People's People
10. All For You

George Barton: Drums
Dave Lewis: Guitar, Piano, Organ, Vocals
Nigel Smith: Bass, Vocals
Dave Mc Douggall: Keyboards

This band started life as a trio from Northern Ireland called Method, changing their name to Andwella's Dream after moving to London in 1968. After the first LP they were known simply as Andwella.Love And Poetry is a highly-rated psychedelic album, which featured guest artist Bob Downes playing sax, flute etc. All the songs were written by Dave Lewis. The highlights are the opening track, The Days Grew Longer For Love, which like most tracks is slow and melodic but with killer guitar leads; the heavier psychedelic number Sunday and Cocaine and Shades Of Grey, two tracks which veer towards progressive rock with plenty of organ and jazzy guitar. CBS released three singles from the album including two non-album sides: Missus Man and Mister Sunshine. Of these, Sunday is a superb slice of psychedelic rock with some Hendrix-influenced guitar work.In 1970 they switched to Reflection for whom they recorded two albums, neither of which matched their first effort and two 45s. The World's End album was also comprised entirely of Dave Lewis compositions, but most of the tracks were more mainstream with string orchestrations, brass arrangements and background vocals.

1 opmerking: