maandag 29 november 2010

Andromeda - 1969 - Andromeda


01. Too Old (5:00)
02. The Day of the Change (5:04)
03. Now the Sun Shines (4:02)
04. Turns to Dust (6:51)
I. Discovery
II. Sanctuary
III. Determination
05. Return to Sanity (8:22)
I. Breakdown
II. Hope
III. Conclusion
06. The Reason (3:33)
07. I Can Stop the Sun (2:10)
08. When to Stop (8:38)
I. The Traveller
II. Turning Point
III. Journey's End

- John Du Cann / guitar, vocals
- Mick Hawksworth / bass guitar, vocals
- Ian McLane / drums

 ANDROMEDA was a blend of psychedelic, progressive, jazz and hard rock power trio which lasted only enough to release one album. They were formed back in '68, by John Du Cann, later of ATOMIC ROOSTER, after the break of his previous band, THE ATTACK.

Du Cann (guitar), along with Mick Hawksworth (bass) and Jack Collins (drums), recorded a psychedelic rock project named THE FIVE DAY WEEK STRAW PEOPLE, being a concept album much praised by collectors nowadays. After recording this project, the three decided to form a band, who was called ANDROMEDA. The band started to gig, record demos, live material, etc, but without and recording contract.

In '69, they were helped by John Peel, after recording sessions in Top Gear programme. It was arranged for them to record a single, by RCA, in Peel's label Dandelion; later they signed a contract to record an album, self titled. The band had some disagreements with Peel by the time Collins left, being substituted by Ian McLane, and they broke the contract. Though the band toured with BLACK SABBATH, recorded several live radio performances and even Pete Townshend from THE WHO showed his interest to produce their album, nothing turned out as expected, but they could hold a contract with RCA, were they released their only, self- titled album in '69. The album was acclaimed by critics, but had no great success among the public, so they never released another material again. Du Cann left in late 69' going to form Atomic Rooster, along with Vincent Crane and Carl Palmer from ARTHUR BROWN BAND. The other members tried to continue with new guitarists, but the band soon split.

Anyonewho is a fan of ATOMIC ROOSTER needs to check this album out.John Du Cann is the guitarist on this ANDROMEDA record and when it didn't become a commercial success he left to join ATOMIC ROOSTER.Both bands played a similar hard rocking style but ANDROMEDA were a trio with no organ.This band was one of the early prog bands as this was released in 1969.When i first heard it my initial reaction was that it sounded dated,but that really is it's charm.It does have a psychedelic flavour to it,but really this is often heavy,bordering on metal at times.I can't believe how good this lead guitarist is though.A lot of times it's just a shred-fest.The bass is very upfront as well."Too Old" opens with some scorching guitar before the drums and bass join in on this uptempo rocker.The bass is prominant.Vocals after 1 1/2 minutes.Moreexcellent guitar after 4 minutes."Day Of The Change" is a mid paced tune that starts slowly.A fairly catchy,straight forward song.The tempo picks up 2 1/2 minutes in as we get some ripping guitar and throbbing bass.We're back to the original melody a minute later.Cool tune."And Now The Sun Shines" is a relaxing ballad-like tune. "Turns To Dust" is a more energetic track with vocals,as the guys play fairly behind him and over top of him.Haha.Check out the guitar after 3 minutes,and the absolutely blistering solo 5 1/2 minutes in. "Return To Sanity" opens with marching-like drums as the sound starts to build as bass and guitar join in.It stops after 2 minutes as a new more relaxing melody arrives.Vocals after 3 minutess.The ripping guitar with pounding drums is contrasted with the relaxing passages to end the song. "The Reason" features aggressive guitar coming and going throughout.I really like this one. "I Can Stop The Sun" is a mellow track with fragile vocals,acoustic guitar and harmonies. "When To Stop" is the 8 1/2 minute closer.A powerful intro is replaced by a light melody of guitar,bass and light drums.Vocals join in.It gets powerful again as this contrast continues.I love the guitar before 4 minutes that trades solos with the bass until they join forces.Nice.The last section features Spanish sounding guitar melodies in a pastoral ending. There are 8 bonus tracks.The first is significant "Go Your Way" as it was the first single the band released on RCA.I also really like the blazing instrumental "Exodus".A ignificant record that may appeal to those fans of power trios.This is one of the earliest. 

1 opmerking: